Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s 5:00 a.m. on Thanksgiving morning.  I’m up because we’re hosting the family this year.  Kory’s putting the turkey on the Big Green Egg as we speak, and I’m in charge of the stock he will use to make the most delicious brown gravy known to man.  

I don’t like to get up at 5:00 a.m.  Ever.  Except on Thanksgiving.  It’s my favorite day of the year, and I want it to last as long as possible.  So for a few minutes before I hear the pitter-patter of 6 little feet hitting the floor upstairs, I’m sitting in the comfort of my den, sipping a cup of Pumpkin Spice coffee, being still, and watching the early morning festivities in New York on the new TV Kory hooked up last night.  

We’ve been without a TV downstairs since we moved into our new house (not all bad), and Kory worked tirelessly last night to get everything set up so that we can enjoy the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade as a family while he and I finish some last-minute things in the kitchen at the same time.  The family will enjoy watching the Cowboy game on the new TV later in the afternoon as well.  We’ll actually be AT THE GAME with the kids this year (thanks to a very generous family from our church who can’t use their tickets)!  It’s going to be a great day of family and fun.  

All week, I’ve been pondering what to post on Thanksgiving Day.  And I’ve been stumped.  There are so many things I have to be thankful for:

I’m thankful for new beginnings.  Because I’ve learned this year that they are good for the soul.

I’m thankful that a house is not a home, and that home is where the heart is.  

I’m thankful for my husband who is my best friend and my biggest supporter.

I’m thankful for friendships that transcend geography.

I’m thankful for the ways God has used people this year to remind us of His grace and provision.

I’m thankful for my children who are reflections of God’s goodness every day.

I’m thankful that I really do get to “have it all” because God has helped me redefine what that means in my life.

I’m thankful for opportunities to take “ginormous” leaps of faith because they have made us stronger.

I’m thankful for so many friends and family members who support us in ministry and me in my roles as wife, mom, and professional.

And I’m thankful that as I sit right here in my den, somehow I know that we’re exactly where we need to be for this time.

There are so many other reasons I have to be thankful that I can’t possibly list them all here.  So I’ll leave you with some thoughts of gratitude and praise from my children.  I found these little “windows” into their hearts when I was cleaning out their backpacks late last night.

From our daughter:

 

 

From our oldest son:

“God is so good he gives us stuff that we need.”


“God gives us family and friends.”

Yes, we have much to be thankful for, and today, I am especially thankful for the ways that God is working in the hearts of our children!  

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  

May you feel the riches of God’s grace and goodness in your life today and always!

 

 

 

  

 

5 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. We are thankful for moments in time to make a memory, like today- road trip for me and my kids to get to Lost Pines to have a family weekend and meet up with Brian who was already here. We are having turkey sandwiches in the hotel room while awaiting the Tech (and Texas) game. I thank God for a beautiful day, for time to be outside with my family, for the family i was not able to see today, and for friends like you and Kory! God bless your family, and enjoy the cowboy game!

  2. Aw, this makes me miss seeing you all today. The writings of your children are so precious. I’m looking forward to being with the extended family for Christmas even more now.

    The generosity of others is something I’m always thankful for. We’ve been blessed with everything from family photos to diapers and hand me downs. In fact, three of our kiddos were dressed in the most adorable outfits, handed down from your children. Happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

