New Place, Familiar Face

My kids are so resilient.  I’m sure yours are as well.  I think God made them that way because, let’s face it.  Growing up has its challenges, doesn’t it?  

I think one of those challenges is that, in many respects, kids lack control.  They are subject to our way of doing things.  

Our plans.  

Our dreams.  

Our successes.  

Our failures.  

Our mistakes.  

Our challenges.  

Yes, they are subject to our lives, and how we choose to live them. 

During our family devotional recently, I was reminded of this fact by our middle child.  We were reading about how God is everywhere.  He has always been.  He is now.  He always will be.  And no matter where we are, God is with us.  

At the end of the devotional, Kory began singing a song we often sang during worship at our old church.  It’s called “Never Let Go,” and the chorus goes like this:

Oh no, You never let go

Through the calm and through the storm

Oh no, You never let go

Every high and every low

Oh no, You never let go

Lord, You never let go of me

As soon as he sang the first line, the kids jumped in.  And when it was all over, our son said in a very sad and weepy voice, “I miss our old church.”

This took Kory and me by surprise because our kids are doing great in this new place.  Really, they are, and we’re so proud of how adaptable and enthusiastic they’ve been with having to change schools, move away from friends, and dive in with a new church family.  In fact, several months ago, in one of my very first posts, I wrote about how their great attitudes have been such a blessing to me during this time.

But because they’ve been so optimistic about our new surroundings, I’ve lost sight of the fact that they, too, are still grieving some loss.  And this comment by our son was a good reminder for me that I still need to stop and take note of how they’re doing along the way.

Just as I was about to respond to our son’s statement, our daughter (and oldest child) sprang into action.  (She is somewhat of a mother hen!)

She asked our son,

“Do you know the one person that went to our old church and also goes to our new church?”

He shrugged his head “no.”

“God!” she said

“God was at our old church, and God is with us at our new church too.  Do you know where he is?  He’s in our hearts!”

The big smile on our son’s face said it all.  That made everything better!

And so I pass it on to you.  

Where are you today?  Are you in a new place physically, emotionally, or spiritually?  Are there things about your past that you are missing today?  Do you feel alone in your surroundings?  Are you longing for things you can no longer have?  Or are you just having a hard time?

If your answer is “yes” to any of these questions, take heart.  Rest assured.  Be at peace.  No matter where you are, God will meet you in that place.  God will surround you with the grace you need in this moment, for this moment.  And God will carry you along the path of your current journey through to its completion.  That you can count on today!

“The Lord is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him in truth.”

Psalms 145:18

 

  

 

  

 

12 thoughts on “New Place, Familiar Face

    • Thanks for your kind words. There’s no doubt that raising kids helps us view the world from a different perspective. They’re so raw, honest, and pure in their thoughts. I learn from them every day!

  1. Great blog /great reminder. Adjusting to whatever comes your way is most comforting when you just stop and know that He is God and ALWAYS with us. Have a great week.

  2. Even though our children are grown, I can really relate, as we moved them many times during their school lives. Things change for all of us on a daily basis, but knowing that God is walking with us always gives me peace. Thank you for sharing your wonderful family with us. God bless.

    • Margaret, it is such a pleasure to write this blog. Thanks for sharing your time with me. I’m so glad that the post touched you. Moving is a real faith builder, isn’t it? So thankful to have my connection to God wherever we are called. Blessings to you!

  3. If it will help, tell him that your new church loves all of you dearly. You are a precious, REAL family, and it is wonderful that you don’t try to put on the false cloak of “perfection”. But it is a very big church, and that size thing can be overwhelming at times. Still, we all know that God is with us, and that is the best part of any church! Love you so much, Knott family!

    • Linda, thank you so much for your sweet words. We do feel so embraced in our new church. And we know that we are where we need to be for this season of ministry. I can’t imagine going through all of this change and not having the luxury of feeling that way. But I know that happens to clergy families every day and for those who are struggling to transition, I need to remember them in my prayers. Blessings to you!

  4. As I was about to respond to this post, I noticed that my mom had commented below about our many moves while my brother and I were growing up. I wouldn’t change any of it, because we were blessed with so many great experiences along the way. And now with many big changes coming for Alec and I, it is a great reminder that no matter what house we find for our life together, God will be there. And not only do the happy memories from our previous homes go with us, but we get to create new ones in a new one together. Thanks for the reminder – I really needed it 🙂

    • Kristi: Thanks for these words of encouragement regarding the impact your many moves have had on your life. God’s faithfulness is so evident during times of change! Best of luck to Alec and you on finding a new home. Blessings to you, and it was great having you both in the Bible study!

Leave a Reply

