Jesus In A Biscuit

Easter.  It’s a busy time of the year for ministry families.  And each year, after “surviving” Holy Week, I lament the fact that we spent so much time running around like dogs chasing our tails.  It never plays out the way I have it scripted in my head, and I always wish we did more to observe the most significant week in the life of the Church.  

I vowed that this year would be different.  

We continued the family tradition of dying Easter Eggs.  Which was so much fun!

But we added an activity to the agenda that I’ve wanted to try for years, and we’ve always run out of time.  

This morning, we made Resurrection Biscuits, and we had a great discussion about the Easter story as we enjoyed the delicious treats we made.

Here’s how to make them:

 

We tweaked the recipe slightly.  I used Grands Biscuits instead of crescent rolls, and we patted the dough down a bit to thin it out.

We also dipped both the marshmallow and the finished biscuits in butter, cinnamon, and sugar to make them extra yummy.

The kids really enjoyed the hands-on baking.  And we learned a couple of things.  Based on our experience, I have two tips for making these biscuits.

First, make sure that the seams of the finished biscuits are well-sealed.  Otherwise, you may end up with some run away marshmallows.  (More on that in a minute.)

Second, with respect to the cooking time, I recommend that they be baked as long as possible without over-cooking the dough to ensure that the marshmallows melt entirely.  This will increase the dramatic effect of the “empty tomb.” (We had a few marshmallows that didn’t melt completely.)

I also tweaked the lesson a bit.  You’ll notice that in Step 5, the recipe refers to wrapping the marshmallow as symbolism for the wrapping of Jesus’s body after death.  I think that’s good.  But I felt that a critical component of the story was missing.  So once we finished wrapping our biscuits, when we dipped them in the butter, cinnamon, and sugar mixture, I referred to the finished biscuit as “the tomb” where Jesus was laid. 

We also increased the second reading to Matthew 28:1-10 to give the kids more context to work with.

When I pulled the biscuits out of the oven, this is what they looked like:

If you look closely at the biscuit in the top, left corner, you’ll see that the marshmallow escaped from the tomb because we didn’t seal the finished biscuit quite good enough.  When I pulled the tray out of the oven, my oldest son pointed to that biscuit and yelled,

Whoa! Jesus rose from the dead!!!

I laughed out loud!

When we opened the biscuits, this is what they looked like:

The house smelled divine, and the kids couldn’t wait to get their hands on the yummy treats they had baked with their own hands! 

But the biscuits had to cool.  So while that happened, we had a great discussion at the kitchen table.  

Some of the questions I asked were:

1.  How do you think Joseph of Arimathea felt when he prepared Jesus’s body for burial?

My son:  He felt sad because Jesus was his friend.

My daughter:  He felt helpful because he was honoring the life of a special man.

2.  How do you think that Mary and Mary Magdalene felt after Jesus was buried?

My daughter:  They felt sad because they thought that was the end of the story.

3.  How do you think Mary and Mary Magdalene felt when they went to the tomb and found it empty?

My son:  They felt sad because they didn’t understand what had happened.

My daughter:  They felt sad because they thought someone had stolen Jesus’s body.

4.  How do you think they felt when the angel began to speak to them?

My daughter:  That would have freaked me out.  I would have run away from there so fast!

My son:  Yeah.  Me too!

5.  Once they understood what had happened, how do you think Mary and Mary Magdalene felt?

My son:  They felt happy because Jesus wasn’t dead anymore.

My daughter:  They felt happy because they finally understood what had happened!

Yes.  Yes, they did.  And thank goodness the story ended that way!   It continues to amaze me every time I read it.  And this activity cast a fresh perspective on it, even for me.  

The Resurrection Biscuits were definitely worth the time and effort they took.  The biscuits were delicious.  The lesson was great.  And the fellowship and community we experienced along the way were fantastic.  

So we voted.

And we decided that Resurrection Biscuits is a new family Easter tradition!  Your family might enjoy it too!

Happy Easter to you all!  Thank you for the time you invest to read our blog, to engage in the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or in reply to a post, and to share our posts with your circle of friends.  We are praying that you might experience the miracle of the Resurrection in a new way tomorrow morning! 

4 thoughts on “Jesus In A Biscuit

  1. I have a friend who makes these with her kids. Their recipe must be a bit different, because they baked theirs and left them in the oven overnight. The oven has been sealed with a stone (blue painters tape!!!), and they will open it in the morning to see what has happened. I’ll have to ask her the specifics of it all and get back with you. It’s a very cool idea, one that I wish had been around when my kids were a bit younger. GREAT new tradition!

    • Linda, those are the Resurrection cookies. I have that recipe too and debated over which one to use. I went with the biscuits since we wouldn’t have to wait overnight for the teaching point. But that is the point isn’t it? Waiting for the resurrection makes it all the more meaningful when Easter comes. And that, in and of itself, is a great lesson. We may try the cookies next year!

  2. I am just now reading this, and realize, we can do this the week after Holy Week, to reflect on what we just celebrated. Thank you for your inspiration! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

