That One Thing NOT To Do When We Don’t Know WHAT To Do.

She had me at ballerina.  At New York City, London, and Milan.  At MaxMara and Dolce & Gabbana.  At Robert Cavalli and Burberry.  And at fashion industry guru.  But when I read that Kristen Seidle gave up her dream job with the wholesale Division for Lifestyle brand, Lilly Pulitzer to join Colette Sol USA Handmade Women’s Shoes to Fight Human Trafficking, I was sold.

During an online interview featured at HeartStories.com, Kristen had this to say about her journey:

“I was introduced to Amanda, the founder of CS USA, through a mutual contact.  As soon as I heard about the vision of the brand and saw the product I was interested.  I had been reading a lot about the issue of trafficking and was really feeling like I needed to do something.

So she left everything that she knew and loved and counted on to take a new job and a stand against one of the most significant social issues of our day.

This girl’s a world changer.  And she’s brave.  The kind of brave I want to be.

But do I have that kind of brave in me?  I’m not sure.

Would I be willing to give up my dream job to pursue similar work, for less pay, under more difficult circumstances?

Could I lay down everything I have to join the fight against a social problem that burdens my heart?

Would I be willing to give up the sense of security that comes with a stable job and a predictable pay check to invest in a future that’s less than certain and to face a task that’s overwhelming?

I don’t know.

And is that even what God is leading me to do?

I have no idea.

Like Kristen, I feel that God is nudging me to do something about something but I don’t yet know what that something might be.  God has stirred up so many concerns and passions in my heart over the last 18 months that I[m overwhelmed.  I have no idea where to begin.

And I think this is where we often freeze.  In the uncertainty of that place between God’s call and our “yes”.  But what I’ve begun to learn these last few months is that “I don’t know what to do” doesn’t mean “don’t do anything at all.”

To the contrary.

I’m learning that some journeys are just the “one foot in front of the other” kind rather than the “giant leap of faith kind.”  And in order to embark on this kind of journey?

Well, we have to put one foot in front of the other.

We have to do something.  Particularly if we feel God nudging us to move.

Even if that something seems small.

Even if that something is just for today.

And even if we have no idea where that something may take us down the road.

“You don’t have to make major, sweeping changes all at once, in your life to start a new journey! . . . You can make ripples in the water. For some of us that’s activism, for others it’s bringing awareness to a problem.  Big or small, you can contribute.  What you do makes a difference.” — Kristen Seidle, Colette Sol USA.

Kristen SeidleWhat something might God be nudging you towards today?

To shop Colette Sol USA in the Shop by Heartstories store, click here.

To view the Colette Sol USA Spring/Summer 2015 Look Book, click here.

Leave a Reply

